OBTAINING YOUR WEST VIRGINIA MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD
– Greenlight will be accepting West Virginia medical cards with a West Virginia-issued driver’s license or state-issued ID
WEST VIRGINIA Medical Marijuana Cardholder Registry
Per the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act, a qualifying medical condition is:
- Position status for human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the spinal cord with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity
- Huntington’s disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Intractable seizures
- Sickle cell anemia
- Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain
- Terminal illness that is defined as a medical prognosis of life expectancy of approximately one year or less if the illness runs its normal course
Step 1: Find a Doctor
West Virginia residents must first identify and schedule an appointment with a state-registered physician in order to receive their Patient Certification Form. NOTE: Registering for a Patient Card from the Office of Medical Cannabis is a separate action from registering for a physician's visit and acquiring a Patient Certification Form.
A list of local state-registered physician list available by in-person appointment can be found here.
You may also use our partner, Elevate Holistics, for a low-cost, online telemedicine evaluation, all from the comfort of your home!
Telehealth appointments are allowed in West Virginia! The following state-registered providers offer patient certification by telehealth:
Step 2: Register
Once you receive your Physician Certification, they will submit a copy of your Patient Certification Form directly to the Office of Medical Cannabis. This may take up to 24-hours to complete. Once completed, you can then apply for your medical cannabis card via the West Virginia MyComplia registration portal. You will need to register for an account before completing the application process in the portal by clicking on the "REGISTER" button in the top, righthand corner of the afore-provided MyComplia link. Please note: state registration fee is $50 (fee-waive options available through state while registering) and payment may only be made by mail-in check at this time.
Step 3: Apply
Once patients have registered, an application can be completed by logging into the MyComplia portal, clicking “+Create Application” and “New Patient Registration”.
- Click here for a step-wise MyComplia Patient Registration Checklist.
- Click here for a visual MyComplia Patient Registration User Guide.
The West Virginia Office of Medical Cannabis has 30-60 days to process all submitted applications and processes them in the order they were received. Patients will be notified via email of their application status.
Cards will expire after 1 year for patients registering after October 1, 2021.